Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Game of Thrones Exhibit

leave a comment »

Saw the Game of Thrones exhibit at the Museum of Contemporary Art this morning.  Decided, after not all that much sleep, to get up at 4.15am and catch a train at 5.30 to get there by 6.30 – a good decision, as there was already a sizable line waiting for the 10am opening.  Got in at 11.50am.

Strangely enough I didn’t find myself that impatient with the line, and I’m not entirely sure why.  I did have a book to read, but I have a bit of trouble reading publicly – concentration and whatnot – and so I only got 83 pages into it.

Now, whether it was worth the wait is another thing altogether, although my 5 hour 20 minute wait was but chump change for some who were there for over ten hours, or the many who weren’t even allowed to queue because they would have no hope of getting in given their position in the line.  I think it was worth it, though.  Not so much because of the content of the exhibition, but because of the curiosity that was sated on my part, plus the new experience that it was to queue for something for such a ridiculous length of time.  Indeed, I wonder if I was almost more seduced by the slightly masochistic thought of the lengthy queue than I was for the actual exhibition.  Certainly I wanted to experience the Oculus Rift attraction that they had (a virtual reality goggle and headphone set, with some wind blown on you as well, simulating your travelling in a rickety lift up the Wall of the fantasy world, then being shot by arrows and falling off).  Although that was marred slightly by the image being somewhat blurred, which possibly was the fault of my eyes and possibly not.  (Also, I’m not entirely sure if the sound was completely working, but I still flinched a little bit when the arrow came at me, so I must have been somewhat immersed.)  And there was also the attraction of seeing all the stuff from a favourite TV show – all the props and so on…

Who knows, who knows.  Over analysing, no doubt.

83/455 in The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (ie J.K. Rowling).

Written by epistemysics

July 5, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

