Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

“Wagner as Chamber Music?”

with 3 comments

My soul, my body, my whatever – it feels as if it’s been blasted out of a volcano and splattered over the walls of a sauna.  I can’t be hungover, because I only had two beers, but god do I feel awful today.  And more than usually stressed, too.  Inexplicable, at least to my conscious thought.  God knows what lies beneath.  Bunny rabbits and serial killers, mayhem and yoga on mountaintops, logic and irrationality mixed up as a dyslexic Rubik’s cube.  (Yes, I have no idea what I’m talking about either.)

Saw “Wagner as Chamber Music?” with the ACO tonight.  Rather wonderful.  The violist (one of the two) had the head of his bow snap off, which apparently is extremely rare, and they had to start the piece again.  Someone in front of me in the audience, who had brought a bow along with him in a case (no idea why, though I’m sure there’s a good reason), was saying to his neighbour (who he knew) that it’s fixable, but it drops the value of the bow to 15% of what it was originally.  Yikes.

You know, I think Boswell said that Johnson used to stand to the side of a crowded room and read a book.  And this is the first time, today, that I recollect that fact from the biography.  I wonder why it’s taken me that long to remember it, what with me making myself somewhat of a disciple of such a method.  (Well, not so much standing and reading.  Sitting quite a bit , yes.)

379/whatever.

Written by epistemysics

November 10, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I stand by the side of the world and read

    Neil

    November 11, 2013 at 2:23 am

  2. Must be hard, what with the lack of air in space. :p You know, I just saw a program in which they said that a space suit for an astronaut costs $35,000,000 to make? (Just thought you should know that.)

    epistemysics

    November 11, 2013 at 1:21 pm

  3. Ye only need an ounce of concentration to close the doors on the world!

    Neil

    November 12, 2013 at 1:25 am


Leave a Reply

