Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

In the Night

leave a comment »

When all is calm, no stir, and night be deaf,
Then there is where the man with thoughts will be;
He thinks, he ponders, natters to himself,
And posts another blog for you to see.

He writes terrible poetry on occasion, too.

Got my copy of Runaway by Alice Munro today, finally.  And, much to my dismay, it has printed on it, “winner of the Nobel Prize” (or something along those lines), which means the reason it took so long to get here was obviously because they did another print run of it, as they (a) had run out of stock, and (b) wanted to pubicise the win.  I would’ve thought buying it within twenty minutes of the announcement would’ve had me in with a chance of getting it before the stock ran out, but apparently not…

The disappointing thing is that now it looks like I am but a follower of the crowd (which I often am).  Will people judge me (assuming they care (a big assumption)) for reading a book so obviously of the moment?  Would they have judged me anyway on seeing the author’s name, even if there was no sticker on it?

I should get some real problems, shouldn’t I?

Written by epistemysics

November 6, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

