Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Grease

leave a comment »

Saw Grease, the musical, tonight.  Good.  Nothing grand.

There was a couple next to me – a young man and woman; or rather a young man and his female friend (let me not make assumptions, or let me make assumptions of a different sort) – and during ‘Summer Nights’ I noticed a movement out of the corner of my eye.  It was right before the two leads were about to hit their respective high notes, harmonising as they famously do, and this young man’s hand darted towards his companion’s and grasped it.  The notes were hit, the hand was grasped then released, and I got the sense that he was extremely satisfied with what he had just seen and heard.  (There was body language to suggest so – I want to say a fist pump but I can’t remember, nor did I turn to look.)  Perhaps he was a friend of the cast members, or perhaps he’s just very enthusiastic about it all.  Either way, I find it amusing.  Or interesting.  Or a combination of the two.  Foreign enthusiasms always have a touch of the absurd to it, whereas our own enthusiasms are perfectly logical, yes?  Ha.

Written by epistemysics

October 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

