Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

The Dilemma Continues

leave a comment »

And now it occurs that I have to once again face the same dilemma, vis a vis Ludmila’s Broken English, as I had to face at the bookshop last fortnight.  Because I’m betting – though I haven’t bothered to look for it yet – that the other version I bought back in 2009 was paperback.  So now not only did I have to decide whether I wanted to buy the hardcover or the paperback, now I have to decide which one I will want to read.  Sigh.

Watching Dexter season 3 at the moment, and it has me thinking about what I would do if I was in love with a psychopath and didn’t know it.  Or in a relationship with, and in love with, rather – let this not be a non-consummated thing.  If my spouse was merely faking reciprocating my love, would I care?  Obviously one wants their lover to be in love with them – anything else seems dirty and tainted – but if someone were to come to me, some Fateful player of destiny, and tell me that I had the choice to either fall in love or not, but if I chose to fall in love, there would be a chance – not a definite, but a chance – that the loved person would be a psychopath, then I think I’d take the risk.  Because I would never know anyway, right?  It’s the Turing Test, it is.  Indeed, what if the lover were a robot and I never knew?  (Insert obligatory ‘ignorance is bliss’ comment here.)

I was watching an episode of Quite Interesting, and they were talking about how we read emotions into actor’s faces that aren’t there – that we fill in the emotions we expect them to have for them.  That seems like it has something to do with the above, perhaps.

Written by epistemysics

October 15, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

