Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

The Crowd

leave a comment »

Saw The Crowd with the ACO this afternoon.  Meh.  I’m glad I didn’t pay for it, let me just say that.  But I have a feeling I didn’t quite ‘get’ it, or I wasn’t on the right wavelength, or was expecting something else.  I still don’t think it would’ve been brilliant even if I was on the right wavelength, though.  Some nice music, though.  Some of Schubert’s unfinished, sans video most of the time (it was music set to a specially made film), which was quite good, except not enough power in the strings (not enough strings, rather) for the Concert Hall.  Why am I going so in-depth on this concert all of a sudden?  Put it in the damn review, Adam.

As I was walking to the aforementioned Concert Hall, and being blown all the way to Kansas and back again by the semi-hurricane that apparently invaded Sydney today, I walked past the Dendy, as I always do, and saw a poster for NTLive’s latest broadcast, of Othello.  It started screening on the 12th October, and finished today, the 13th.  That is, I missed it.  I bought the program months ago from the National Theatre, so I’ve sunk money into it, too.  And I was even invited to the media screening which must’ve been earlier this week.  And I had the whole day free yesterday when I could’ve seen it.  And I have thought about it from time to time, thinking, “I should check to see whether there’s an NTLive coming up, especially since there’s a media screening soon”.  But I didn’t.  This, methinks, demonstrates most likely the suspected thoroughly depressed state of mind of mine at the moment.

I will, however, get to see it, for I am a genius and have my ways.  But you’d have to buy me a book first if you wanted me to tell you…

Saw Matthew Lutton in the foyer today – not surprising, considering he was the director of The Crowd (I assume he was the director of the movie?).  Perhaps that’s why I was disappointed, too, because I was looking forward to seeing some of his work again.  He’s disappeared down to Melbourne the last couple of years.  Carl Vine, too, I saw.

Written by epistemysics

October 13, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

