Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Visual Culture in the Ascendant

leave a comment »

Finished watching The Lone Ranger, and thought it much better than all the critics doomed it to be.  Not the best thing I’ve seen, but interesting enough.  I too had no idea about The Lone Ranger beforehand – it was a TV series or something, right? – so perhaps that helped.  Ignorance is often the womb of false quality.

But is there such a thing as false quality in this world?  One man’s trash is another’s treasure, and everything is subjective; and goodness gracious is that a whole collection of ten books to explore that topic properly, and given the time of night at the moment, I hesitate to entomb myself in such tomes.

Watched This is the End and started surfing the internet twenty or so minutes into it, so it did not hold my attention quite so much.  (I still finished it, though, and sat through the credits as always.)

Watched an episode of Elementary and now think I should read another of Conan Doyle’s Holmesian forays sometime soon.  I have only read the one; one hopes he improves, as the first was rather lacklustre.  But one must give time for the amateur to break the surface of their craft, yes?

Goodness – aren’t I full of proverbs and pseudo-wisdom tonight?  It also occurs to me that I’ve probably been depressed for the last month or two and haven’t quite realised how seepingly it’s come upon me.  One never sees the start of autumn, really, do they?

Written by epistemysics

October 12, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

