Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Savings and Returns

leave a comment »

Up at night, two o’clock passes, I look down nine minutes later and see that it’s 3:09am.  I freak out.  Where has the time gone?  I don’t remember watching an hour’s worth of Youtube, or another episode of Dexter season 3 (I have a lot of Dexter to catch up on).  No, wait, it is daylight saving, come to steal my hour away from me; it is a loan of sorts; one day, like a very long theatre performance, I will collect my hour from that cosmic cloakroom, then, then will all be equilibrium once more.

Tonight I was thinking of that couple I eavesdropped on at a concert a while back – the middle-aged one who described a great evening as taking turns playing songs on Youtube while drinking wine.  And I found myself wondering whether that wouldn’t be such a bad thing after all.  What is, say, watching an episode of Dexter together but much the same thing?  Thinking on that, I realise that perhaps one of my biggest blindspots, character-wise (as a writer creating characters, not my own moral character), is the intimacies of a long marriage.  The old, silent couple in the stalls, saying nothing to each other and reading their respective programs.  The husband and wife who only kiss thrice a day: once when they part, once when they return, and once when they go to bed.

Still, whatever I can imagine no doubt has happened already in a marriage on this planet.  But that has its own share of problems, if I’m trying to specifically depict a normality that the audience may see otherwise.

Written by epistemysics

October 5, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

