Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Budgetary Restraint

leave a comment »

To buy or not to buy…  There’s a book called “The Luminaries” by Eleanor Catton (I think that’s her name).  (And, can I just say, what an excellent title for a book.)  Apparently it’s been shortlisted, or longlisted, or something, for the Booker Prize, although I was aware of it before that.  And now it’s only $20 online, and I’m wondering whether I should buy it or not.  I will read it at some point, because my interest has been piqued, but I recently splurged a bit on clothes, so the bank balance, while still in the positive, isn’t quite where I want it to be.  Plus I’m not meant to be buying new books until I’ve read all the ones that I’ve got.  Because I’ve certainly kept to that promise…

“Splurged a bit on clothes” – and who’d have thunk I’d say that sentence?  One must refresh the wardrobe on occasion, I suppose.  Gosh – I think I’ve been pretty much wearing much the same thing for at least two or three years now, theatre and concert-wise.  I often wonder whether box-office people, when they recognise me, do so because they’re seeing my face, or because they’re seeing the person in a certain set of clothes…  Combination of the two, probably.

I have a hankering for an epic modern novel, though.  Although there is one…called “The Little Ones”, perhaps?  No, that’s not it.  I can’t remember what it’s called, but it was a French author, translated into English, and it was about a gay evil Nazi (as opposed to a good Nazi…), and I stopped reading it fifty or so pages in I think.  I could give that one a try again sometime.  The Kindly Ones, that was it.  I’d have to find it first, though.  Ha!

Written by epistemysics

September 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

