Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

A Cole Porter Celebration

leave a comment »

Saw A Cole Porter Celebration with the Sydney Philharmonia Choir tonight.  Rather good.

Finished Persuasion.  Very enjoyable.  Indeed, I enjoyed it more than Mansfield Park, though it wasn’t quite as – what’s the word – didn’t quite have the same vivacic weight as Pride and Prejudice.  But it was very close.  (“Vivacic” as in vivacious/vivacity.  Should I have just said vivacious?  Maybe.  Who knows.  My mind can’t handle such fine points in grammar at the moment.)  I thought the scene near the end, when Captain Wentworth (oh be still my beating heart, what a fine and dignified gentleman he makes, oh, oh, I must sit down, I think I’m getting the vapours, is it hot in here or is it just, no, some water would be lovely, oh, oh…)…  (Well that’s a sentence thoroughly derailed if ever there was one…)  At the end when Captain Wentworth comes back in the room and leaves the letter for Anne on the table, and then she reads it after he’s gone…  That letter gave me shivers, reading it in the interval.  Well, one or two shivers down the spine.  One doesn’t get such feelings from a book too often.  I wonder if I’ve ever cried reading a book?  I don’t think I have.  I think it was the intensity of it all – the way Austen withheld the declarations and then exploded them all at once.  It was good, is what I’m trying to say.

Anyway.  Ramble done.

34/546 in The Thousand Autums of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell.  Not Sense and Sensibility.  Which somewhat irks me, but, depressed as I probably currently am, I felt it best to change things up.  Marvellous read so far, and shaping up to be a great book, methinks.  It seems to be, out of all the books of his that I’ve read, the one with the least amount of visible seams in it.  Well, no seams at all, really.  Mind you, I’m only 34 pages in, so there could be structural wonders awaiting me…

Written by epistemysics

September 19, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

