Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead (Again Again)

leave a comment »

Saw Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead at the STC for the third time tonight.  Better audience than last Saturday, so a slightly better experience, methinks.

Gosh, I have so much to talk about it – so many observations to be made – but I might stick them in the review.  Maybe.  Not tonight, anyway.  One is tired.

Bought myself the DVD, too, of the movie version, completionist that I am, having to have all of Stoppard’s stuff.  (Well, clearly I’m not a fanatic completionist, as there was a DVD there called “The Russia House” – or some such thing – which he wrote the screenplay for, and I didn’t buy that…)  I’ve seen the movie before, but I hadn’t seen the special features, so I was mostly buying it for them, as there was an interview with Stoppard.  (Plus I did want to own the movie.)  Turns out the interview with Stoppard is a whole HOUR long.  Score!

I think it’s the first play I’ve seen three times.  And I’ll probably never see anything again that many times, not because this was a bad experience, but because I perhaps looked obsession in the eye and got close enough to catch conjunctivitis.

Written by epistemysics

September 13, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

