Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony

leave a comment »

Saw Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony tonight with the Sydney Symphony.  Rather good.

If someone were to tell me that everyone in future generations would know my name, know who I was, know and talk about me, I would not be satisfied.  (That is, knowing me in a kind of Paris Hilton, famous for being famous, type of way; not because of anything I’d achieved or created.)  Even if I were to be worshipped, I think, I would not be satisfied.  No, I think I only want to be remembered as a playwright, and, indeed, only for my works to be remembered if need be.

Thinking of a Stoppard biography today – the thought that maybe I’ll buy one, maybe not – I was thinking back on meeting John Bell, and wondering, if there was a biography of him available, would I want to read it?  The point being: how much do you have to personally know a person before reading a biography of them would feel weird?  Or feel useless?  Or feel erroneous?  I wonder.  I wonder.

Written by epistemysics

August 29, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

