Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

The Private Library

leave a comment »

After a great deal of thought (and by ‘great deal’ I mean ’30 seconds’), I’ve concluded that the best number of borrowers for a private library collection (that is, for those of you unfamiliar with the concept (especially considering that I’ve just thought of it, though I don’t think it’s a particularly new idea), a library where the books are bought and owned by its members, rather than the government/council) is ten.  Or five.  Between five and ten, methinks.  I imagine some sort of club, too, with plush leather chairs and warm lamps.

Then again, I do have fond memories of – and I didn’t do this that often, but I did it two or three times at least – reading at the UNSW library, high up on the seventh or eighth floor, sitting on a high stool leaning on a counter jutting out from the wall, and looking out of the window upon the surrounding area.  I’m not sure if I ever did it on a sunny day.  But there’s something relaxing about a book on a rainy day, yes?  I suspect it has to do with a sublimation of the desire to be active, that ‘kids go crazy on rainy days’ syndrome.  You have the adventures in the books instead.  (Of course, what can you say about reading a book of non-fiction?  That might not fit the bill, and so it would dismantle my beautiful theory.  Oh well.)

Written by epistemysics

August 12, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

