Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Havisham’s Jest

leave a comment »

A thought occurred to me tonight, while towelling my genitals dry: Miss Havisham would fit right into the world of Infinite Jest.

Watched the second act of Siegfried tonight, and thoroughly enjoyed that too, though still I didn’t find it particularly powerful.  (But more powerful than the first act.)  But I did find it more beautiful that Die Walkure, especially when Siegfried is singer of his mother.

I remembered what I wanted to talk about yesterday.  It was about the ‘oo’ sound in German, the ‘u’ with the umlaut above it.  When that is sung, it has to be the best syllable in the entire language, and I think Wagner may have known it.  It’s certainly more lyrical than a ‘cht’ sound, yes?

192/whatever in the book.  I found out today (I think it’s been known for a week or so now) that it was Rowling’s lawyer, who told his wife’s best friend who then leaked it on Twitter to a journalist, that was the one who broke her pseudonym.  Who can you trust if you can’t trust your own lawyer when it comes to privacy, yes?  Thinking on this tonight on my walk (this was before taking a shower and drying myself), I wondered if it would be possible for me to not only write under a  pen name, but under one of the opposite sex.  (That is, a girl’s name, for those of you who aren’t sure of my gender.)  The problem being that all the actors I’d work with would know, and the circle of people in on the secret would get bigger and bigger…

Written by epistemysics

August 9, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

