Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Persona

leave a comment »

Saw Persona at Belvoir tonight.  I had no idea what it was about – which is always a good way to see a play, methinks.  But I was in the mood for a comedy and didn’t get it.  Twisted little thing, it was.  Fascinating, too.  I enjoyed myself, at least, so I wasn’t disappointed.

On the way back, walking into the bowels of Central, I saw an advertisement for Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, and got very nostalgic for a moment.  (It was an advertisement that was on the same pillar that the advertisement for Travesties was on, back in the day.)  (Although I do believe I’ve determined – and I remember writing about this a couple of months ago but for the life of me can’t remember what I concluded – that that advertisement was not my first contact with the idea of Travesties; possibly it merely reinforced it, possibly it was a reminder after tickets had already been bought.)  Opening night tickets to it, this August.  Must try not to get the hopes up too egregiously, lest expectations be fizzled.

Vis a vis Sisyphus (from a couple of posts ago): no, I don’t think it would be relaxing to watch him, as my empathy would kick in and I would feel his pain.  Perhaps if I knew he was working under award conditions and with the proper OH&S, then might I be able to be calm.

(Now there’s an idea for a joke in a play, yes?  Workplace inspectors visiting Sisyphus, Tantalus, etc, etc.  Well, Tantalus isn’t work so much as mental torture.  Hmm.)

Finished Moonraker tonight.  Best one yet, methinks.

15/387 in The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.  Found my other Machu Picchu bookmark in it after Chapter 4 as well (I vaguely remember reading the first few chapters on the day I got it).  (The Machu Picchu bookmark also has Christ the Redeemer, The Great Wall, and the Colosseum on it.  It’s a bookmark from Book Depository, and one of 14 to collect.  It’s probably my favourite so far that I have, because it’s depiction of Machu Picchu strikes at the romantic sublimist in me.)

Written by epistemysics

July 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

