Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Where Am I?

leave a comment »

It occurs to me, dearest reader, as I read page after page of Pride and Prejudice, that Austen rarely describes a scene.  Indeed, so little space does she spend on describing where the characters are that, on the odd occasion that my attention has faltered for a line or two, I find myself quite flummoxed when, half a page later, the narrator announces that they have “left the play”.  “Play?  What play?” I wonder.  “Were they even in a theatre?”

It’s this that makes me wonder whether Austen wouldn’t have been an interesting playwright.

Boudica would have a soothsayer involved in her campaigns against the Romans.  Also the ghost of her husband, methinks.

195/whatever.

 

Written by epistemysics

July 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

