Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Don Pasquale

leave a comment »

Saw Don Pasquale with Opera Australia tonight.  Rather lovely, rather wonderful.  Only two operas left in the season, and then blandness for the rest of the year…  (Well, actually, there’s ballet, which is a substitute opera of sorts, what with the live orchestra.)  But let me not think of the end before it comes; let me enjoy the now; let me nestle peacefully amongst the clouds before the ground comes hard; let me tarry innocent before the apocalypse.

Thoroughly enjoying Pride and Prejudice.  To be perfectly honest, I was somewhat prejudiced against picking it up to read for quite some time now (possibly because I thought it ‘chick lit’ (though considering Austen is a classic author I doubt that would have deterred me in any significant way), possibly because I was bored by Emma at school), though it was probably more that I wasn’t in the mood for it.  Of course, I realise now that I would’ve been in the mood for it at any time in the last couple of years, but it is no loss, as I’m reading it now, and I’m still young, and there’s plenty of chance (hopefully) to read it again in the future.

167/396, though that includes a huge introduction I haven’t got around to reading yet.  Part of the book disintegrated on me in bed two nights ago – I think it was dried and ossified glue from the spine.  That was interesting.  Either that or it was crumbs from the previous owner.  Urgh.  (She’s also left pencil notes in it on quite a few pages.  Sometimes they’re interesting to read, sometimes not.  Most of the time the notes are pretty obvious, pointing out things in conversation that I already realised, or subtleties that I had no trouble picking up on.)

Written by epistemysics

July 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

