Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Happy at the End

leave a comment »

On my walk tonight – my somewhat cold walk tonight – I thought, without imagining any of the specifics, about what my last play that I write will be like.  And the one thing that I determined it would have was a happy ending.  Of course, whether I know it is my last play or not is another problem entirely, as life has a habit of ending people when they least expect it.  So, barring that, hopefully one day I will feel the dissipation of the writing urge, and so retire, or I will decide that a certain piece is my last serious work, and everything after that will be flippant and minor things.  But I would like to end on a happy note.  Yes, there may be some bittersweetness to it, but I wouldn’t want it to be melancholic, mind you.  Rest – ‘rest’ – is bittersweet, not melancholic.  There’s a distinction between the two, I think.

Anyway, I wonder if I would be being naive if I asserted that any playwright, if you asked them whether their last play will have a happy or sad ending, would always tend to the happy.  I have this innate sense in me that they would, but perhaps that is merely the bias of one who knows no different.

Finished American Gods tonight.  What a murky little number it was, and rather wonderful at the same time.  Not really what I expected it would be, either, which made it all the more pleasant.  (In this case, at least.)

The Old Curiosity Shop, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Lady Chatterley’s Lover, A Clockwork Orange, The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood), The One Hundred Year Old Man, Life and Death are Wearing Me Out, The Orphan Master’s Son, Midnight’s Children…  What to read next?

Written by epistemysics

June 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

