Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Yuri Bashmet and the Moscow Soloists/Australia Ensemble

leave a comment »

Saw Yuri Bashmet and the Moscow Soloists at the Opera House today – rather good.  Tchaikovsky’s serenade for strings was the standout.

Went home, had dinner and whatnot (no space) for about an hour, and then left for the city again, to university this time.

Saw the Australia Ensemble at UNSW, and that was quite good.

Though nothing eclipsed the Walton from last night.

290/whatever in Inferno.  I don’t know if Dan Brown’s prose is worse than usual, or if I’m just noticing it more…  But I’m noticing it more.  Although it’s not like I’m reading it for the prose, obviously.  There’s so much redundancy in it, too, so that whenever something from the past is referred to, it’s explained again.  Which means you don’t have to remember anything for yourself, which is nice for this kind of story.

(I think I’ve found that I can handle two shows in one day much better if I can come home in between them, even if it’s only for an hour.  It lets you let go of the facade, I find, and let’s you recharge a bit.  The facade costs energy, you know.)

I reminisced ever so slightly about my day of graduation, sitting there in the Clancy Auditorium as I was tonight.  Every time I go there I think about it, even if only for a few seconds.  The thing is, dear reader, I don’t believe that what makes me think of it is the Proust-like resurgence of my memory of my graduation, but rather, suddenly in my head pops the idea “I haven’t thought about my graduation yet”.  I seem to have this desire to not think about the graduation when I’m there – not because I want to forget it (far from it), but because I want to test, as it were, whether constant exposure can make a memory invisible (or can make a memory stop resurging).  Whether the past can be rendered neutral by habit.  (It’s a bit like me not noticing what a great building the Opera House is anymore, as I go there all the time, you understand?)

I don’t know why I have this desire, however.  Hmm.

Written by epistemysics

May 18, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

