Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Ashkenazy’s Favourites

leave a comment »

Saw Ashkenazy’s Favourites tonight with the Sydney Symphony.  Nothing is wrong with the world when the music is right, yes?  Discovered a new favourite piece of mine – Walton’s first symphony.  Oh good lord was it good!  Plus one to England and all that too.  (I’ve been meaning to give Elgar’s Falstaff another listen to as well – I recorded the concert off the radio.  I didn’t record tonight’s live broadcast, unfortunately, and I’m kicking myself for it.  And it’s not like I forgot, or wasn’t aware – I’d heard about it on the radio throughout the day, and I just decided not to bother.  Sigh!)

150/whatever in Inferno.  I don’t know if there’s a reason for it, but the book has 102 chapters (and a prologue and epilogue).  Clearly, if any book in the world was going to have 100 chapters (to go with Dante’s cantos), it should be this one, right?  I’ll get back to you on that.

I want to hear the Walton again, damn it!

Written by epistemysics

May 17, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

