Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

The Bull, the Moon, and the Coronet of Stars

leave a comment »

Saw The Bull, the Moon, and the Coronet of Stars at Griffin tonight.  Sigh.  To begin with, the characters insisted on talking about themselves in the third person the entire time, narrating their own stories, which irked me somewhat.  When I see a play, I want to connect to the characters, and if the characters are outside of themselves to begin with – virtually permanently – well…  I dunno…  Watching the play, trying to connect with the characters…

It was like trying to have sex through a curtain.

(Not that I’ve ever actually tried that.)

(But hey – dear reader – if you’ve got the blinds then I’ve got the mind…  (I wanted to say ‘drapes’, but I couldn’t think of a rhyme, unfortunately.))

But even accounting for that I still found it boring.  Clearly this is revenge for me, in a review last week, saying that I’d been to see four really great concerts in the past fortnight, and how wonderful it was that such good music was being played, etc, etc…  And now I get 2 out of 3 theatrical experiences that are tedious in 6 days.

And then I wanted to eat the food that they put out for the opening night, but couldn’t bring myself to do it, even with it being quite a cold night, and them serving quite a hot selection.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve decided on some morals regarding my opening night behaviour; a code of conduct, if you will.  There’s only one rule: if I have any of the food/drinks on offer, then I have to stay for the speeches.  (Unless there’s no speeches, of course – they’re usually within half an hour if there’s going to be one.)

I’m not sure if I’m being completely ridiculous about it or not, but it’s what I’ve decided to do.  Mind you, I did, last year – or maybe this year – take a pastizzi from Griffin and run out the door, but that was before I came up with my rule.  I was considering, maybe next time, sticking around for the speech (I don’t even know if they have a speech at Griffin, as I’ve never stayed there afterwards, but I assume they do) and not eating anything while doing so, but as it’d be for a different production, I doubt it’d absolve my past sins.  So I will just have to live with the guilt forevereverevermore.

Play started ten minutes late, too, so I got a good chunk of reading done both in the foyer and in the theatre itself.  (I’ve recently found that, reading while waiting for a show to start, I don’t get anywhere near as impatient, and so I’m much more positively primed for the experience, if it starts late, than I might otherwise be.)  More comfortable reading in Griffin than Belvoir Downstairs, too.  It worries me somewhat, though, that, when the foyer gets packed, and I’m sitting in the corner near the door to theatre (so I can get my favourite seat, which, tonight, was ‘reserved’ yet again – sigh!), the light for reading is terrible, and yet I can still read if I need to.  I don’t know if I’m ruining my eyes doing that or not.  I suppose fifteen to twenty minutes every month and a half can’t be too bad.  (Well, if we’re talking about exposing oneself to the core of a nuclear reactor, it might be a bit much.  But Shakespeare’s probably fine.)

242/whatever in SUOTAOL.

It quoted, in one part, the following from Measure for Measure, 2.2, Angelo:

“Your brother is a forfeit of the law,
And you but waste your words.”

That ‘but’, in my very humble opinion, is entirely superfluous.  It makes the line sound much better, obviously – keeping the iambic and all that – but it’s utter filler.  He could’ve written “you only waste your words”, but I suppose that’s harder for an actor to say, because it doesn’t flow on as easily from the line above – the comma would have to be a semicolon, for instance.  He could’ve written “you waste your words”, and then I would’ve made the comma a hyphen (or, I suppose he would’ve made it a colon – I have a fetish for hyphens that way), but then Isabella’s next line, which shares Angelo’s – “Alas!  Alas!” would’ve had to have been “Alas!  Alas!  Alas!”, which breaks the rule of threes, and it’s not a climactic moment like Lear’s neverending nevers.

I think what I’m trying to say is that I would’ve written it the same, probably.  Gosh I hope it’s actually superfluous, and that the ‘but’ doesn’t add some meaning I’m not aware of.

Reading a bit of the first scene of Love’s Labour’s Lost the other day – I might work my way through the whole thing soon.

Written by epistemysics

May 8, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

