Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

People/Australia Ensemble

leave a comment »

Saw People this afternoon via NTLive.  Alan Bennett’s latest play, what.  Didn’t enjoy it as much as The History Boys or The Habit of Art, but I still thought it good.

Saw the Australia Ensemble’s latest concert tonight at UNSW.  Thought that quite good.  (When I saw Alexander the Great, I was driven home, only to leave the house for the city again an hour later to see Cirque de la Symphonie.  Today I got something like two to two and a half hours break at home, so I managed quite well.  I’m determined not to do a matinee/evening combo where I stay in the city the whole day again, however.  (Determined, that is, until I discover that that’s the only way I’ll be able to see two shows I really want, and then I’ll force myself, I suppose.))

Read less of The Tale of Genji than I would’ve liked today.  In fact, I think I got about half a page further than I did the first time I tried it.  (Well, I didn’t actually try to read it all the first time – I just read the first chapter out of interest.)  Hopefully I get on the same wavelength as Japanese society 1000 years ago sometime soon, otherwise it’s going to be a very slow read.  (It’s not just having to read the footnotes, it’s having to actually work everything out after having it explained to you, like some sort of complex algebra proof.  Plus, I’m not that good with familial relations to begin with (I’m horrible at knowing precisely who is what to whom in our family).)

21/1120, anyway.  Royall Tyler translation, for those of you playing at home.

Written by epistemysics

April 20, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

