Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Don Quixote

leave a comment »

Saw Don Quixote tonight with the Australian Ballet.  Good.  Complete travesty in relation to the actual novel, though.  Indeed, there was no need for me to read the novel in the first place, as I doubt that – apart from the windmills – there was anything particularly worthwhile that was spoiled.  Not that I regret reading the novel, of course.

And I think that ballet may be the artform that most egregiously exploits itself – if one has to sit through another twenty minutes of merrymaking and celebratory dance…  It’s enjoyable, yes, and I’m happy to watch it, but it doesn’t feel very unified, as if it’s fighting against itself.   I’ve often thought that there is an excess to genius, but I don’t think that applies to ballet, somehow.

Anyway  – what a long, long day it’s been.  So very tired.

I picked a new book to read, namely Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch.  Shortlisted for the 2011 Booker, apparently.  I’m 17/344, and I only hope that I don’t have the measure of the book already like I think I have.  How uninspiring the conventional can sometimes feel!  (Not that I’m not enjoying what I’m reading.  I haven’t got far enough into it to have any real opinions.)

Written by epistemysics

April 12, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

