Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

New Stoppard

leave a comment »

So I learnt today that Stoppard’s written a new radio play – based or using (or something) Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon – that will be broadcast in August.  Looking forward to that.  I’m sure I’ve said this before, but he’s the only writerly idol I have that’s still alive, so it’s always something special when he has a new work.  But I want at least two more full stage plays out of him before he dies.  (Richard Griffiths died the other day – the actor.  I remember seeing him in The History Boys back before I was into theatre.  Would’ve been my first time at the Sydney Theatre.)

And…  I think I’m going to write him a letter.  I’ve thought about this before, but talking to my father on the way home from One Man, Two Guvnors – about the possibility (but unlikely chance) of Stoppard being at the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead opening – and telling him that I know what the address is I should send any fan mail (or what have you) to, he said I should do it.  What could be the harm?  I want to meet him in the flesh, but how many chances will I get before either he (or I) dies?

All I want, basically, is his autograph in my copy of Travesties.  I will not wither up with regret if I don’t get it, but to be perfectly honest, his is the only autograph I’m particularly interested in getting.  Other authors, yes, I’ll take their autographs when the opportunity presents itself (such as Jonathan Franzen), but Stoppard is the only one that has any real meaning to me.  Apparently – according to the website I found his address on – one can send stuff to him to sign, as long as one includes an envelope with the right amount of postage and whatnot (no space).

Which leaves the humongous problem of having to actually write a letter to him.  Who was it that said poets don’t finish poems, but merely abandon them?  Yeah…

I’ve also been wondering whether I should, when the time comes, ask the publicist for some really good seats for the opening of Rosencrantz, what with Stoppard being an idol and all.  Just as a once off type of thing.  (“You can stick me in the circle for the rest of the year, just so long as I get the middle of row G for Rosencrantz!”)  (Not that one ever gets bad seats, of course.  (Never let it be said that I’m flossing a gift horse.)  But there are good seats and really good seats, yes?)  No idea if it’s the done thing or not, though.  Not that that’s stopped me half the time.

100/whatever in TBOD.  But further down the page than yesterday.

 

Written by epistemysics

April 4, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

