Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Down

with 2 comments

Oh God, oh God, why is it that happiness has only the thickness of a page, but despair has its own undefinable depth?  I want to be able to forget that I exist.  I want to be able to choose when I do so.  Reality is like a waterfall in your mind that you can never quite distract yourself from.

I am good.  I have worth.  Even if worth is not an objective thing, and it is I who finds the metric for it, I still believe  that I have worth.  Otherwise why bother?

To think is to rattle the chains we wouldn’t otherwise feel.  And what matter if the carrot dangling in front of us is two centimetres or two years away?  To think is to add distance, and length is unnecessary if one wants to merely be.  Let me have my daily carrots, and let me sleep and dream while the bait is hung again.  Let me write without a future, let me pen my words with all the forethought of a child in a sandbox.  Let me knock upon my goals and find them solid, or let me not knock on them at all.

100/whatever in TBOD.

Written by epistemysics

April 3, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been ruminating on this post all day and would like to offer you this: I’ve been following your blog for only a short time, but am rather delighted and impressed by what turns up each morning. There are very, very, very few things that make me laugh out loud at 7.00am, but your blog has managed to do that several times already. And at the very least it makes me smile. I’ve had a good poke around some of your older posts and think they’re pretty bloody good too. You write with great candour, charm and humour. You know how to construct a shapely sentence, you’re pretty handy with simile and metaphor and I like the fact that you use the word ‘methinks’. There should be more of it. ‘Down’ is inevitable when one lives in one’s head, but ‘Up’ is inevitable too. Don’t spare the horses.

    Danielle

    April 4, 2013 at 10:23 am

  2. Methinks you’re a very nice person for leaving such a lovely comment. 🙂 Despair, unfortunately, is always in orbit around me, and I doubt that anything I ever do will knock it off course entirely. But all a writer can wish for is to write and be read (and hopefully be enjoyed), so it’s good to know that that’s the case!

    epistemysics

    April 7, 2013 at 5:15 am


Leave a Reply

