Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

One Man, Two Guvnors

leave a comment »

Saw One Man, Two Guvnors tonight at the Sydney Theatre.  Brilliant, as I expected, considering I’ve seen it already via NTLive.  I realised, standing in the foyer and drinking my white wine, that this is the first NTLive play that I’ve seen in the flesh as well.  Well, the first play I’ve seen both broadcast and live.  Well, I did see King Lear by Bell Shakespeare on TV a few months after I saw it live, but I wasn’t giving it my full attention, nor did I watch the entire play on the TV.  Well, I did also watch La Boheme on DVD first and then see the same production of it at  the start of the year.

Okay.  So the first play at least, in proper.  And I noticed no difference, really, in my enjoyment of it.  It’s a different experience, yes, but one gets exactly the same out of it, I think.

Opening night party was quite  interestingly catered, too.  Instead of generic food – not that the generic food is in anyway bad, with the Sydney Theatre Company’s servings of mini-hamburgers being some of the best food around, for instance – we had tiny baked potatoes with chives and sour cream, as well as fish and chips in a cone with a page of the Sydney Morning Herald wrapped (and stapled) around it, complete with tartare sauce and a slice of lemon.  And there was some sort of band in the Richard Wherett Studio.  Deliciousness.

White wine and a beer, and that was all.  See?  Not an alcoholic.  (I didn’t even stick around at Griffin last night.)  I don’t know why I’ve suddenly started to choose beers more.  Perhaps I think it makes me look more masculine.  Ha.  Although I noticed two girls that seemed to be glancing at me a few too many times to be a coincidence.  And a guy.  (One takes all the ego-boosting one can get.)  At least I think so.  I’m going to assume yes, because, as I can’t really be sure about either option, I’ll take the more positive one.  Mmhmm.  Let’s see how long that delusion lasts for.

92/whatever in The Book of Disquiet.

Written by epistemysics

April 2, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

