Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Driving Miss Daisy

leave a comment »

Saw Driving Miss Daisy with Angela Lansbury and James Earl Jones tonight at the Theatre Royal.  Nice enough.  It doesn’t strike me as the greatest piece of writing in the world, though.

Of note out of the people I saw tonight was Margaret Pomeranz, who was but a few seats away from me.  Critic royalty!

Mardi Gras, too, apparently, though I seemed to avoid it all, and rather walked past some enthusiastic African preacher talking about God and what Ezekiel said.  It was in Martin Place, and there was a police car near the congregation, too – they were watching the goings on under this big white pavillion-tent thing, you see.  Looked quite professional.  Anyway, there was this African guy preaching God, and lots of people in weird costumes, and the audience was mostly comprised of Asians.  So I have no idea what was going on.

On the train on the way in, I was thinking about the following choice.  (I wrote “ego” on my hand so I wouldn’t forget to mention it in the post.)  The choice is this: would I rather live thinking myself a genius and being frustrated that no one recognises it, or live thinking myself not-very-good and always being pleasantly surprised?  Not that either of these is a choice I can really consciously make, though.  But I was wondering which would be the better…  I’d certainly like the latter more than the former as a friend, methinks.  (Well, it depends on whether the ‘genius’ has actual genius to back it up, I suppose.)

Hmm.  More thinking required.  (But then again, why do I even have to waste time thinking about it?)

Bought myself Grand Theft Auto IV Complete Edition today.  Loving it so far.  Preordered Starcraft II: Heart of the Swarm, too.

149/blah in popopoproust.

Written by epistemysics

March 2, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

