Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

leave a comment »

Saw Cat on a Hot Tin Roof at Belvoir tonight.  Ahh, yes, how comfortable a classic can be, ‘comfortable’ in the sense of being able, without any effort, to surrender to the drama.  Top stuff.

Discovered a mini-bar near the second exit of the Belvoir Upstairs theatre, too.  I’d been out that exit many times, but only at the end of the play – not during the interval – and so I’d never seen the pop-up bar there before.  The things you learn, yes?

Big Daddy was reading from a script as well.  (The tickets were already pushed a week for the media to give him time to slide into the role, after having replaced an ill cast member at the last moment, so I expected him to be off-script by now.  But then, when I found out he would be reading some parts from the script, I felt myself rather lucky, to be honest – I’d never seen an actor read from a script in a live stage performance before, and I’m always one for the new experience.  (Well, I saw a reading once, where the actors moved about slightly, but that’s not the same thing.))  I think he did quite well, although I could hear it in his voice when he was reading off the page, as opposed to having memorised and fully integrated the words into his performance.)

Went to the cheap bookshop at Central, but didn’t buy anything.  (Thank goodness.)  Indeed, I don’t know why I bother going there, considering that, at the moment, I feel a sense of relief if I get away without buying anything.

Anyway, they’ve rearranged a bit, methinks, or at least put some new signs up to label the various sections.  I noticed that one of the signs read “Fiction – Suspence”.

Sigh!  If bookshops can’t spell correctly, what hope is there for the rest of us?

49/whatever in le Proust de roost.  (I have no idea what that means.)

Written by epistemysics

February 27, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

