Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Civilisation on a Bookmark

leave a comment »

Yesterday I got my final Christmas present.  Mother had organised for a friend who was going to England for a holiday (and to catch up with their son who had gone over there for work last year), and who was going to be visiting Stratford-upon-Avon and seeing The Merry Wives of Windsor there, to try and find me some sort of souvenir bookmark to bring back with her.  Apparently she and her daughter were looking all around for one, but couldn’t find anything that they thought I’d like.  So no bookmark for me, then.

Being told this, I suggested instead that mum buy me a bookmark I’d seen online and was rather interested in, and she did so.  (Good lord, my narrative skill is tedious tonight.)  When we went to the website to buy them, it turned out they had a second bookmark in stock as well, and so we bought both (there was a deal on to get both).  What they were – what they are – are the complete texts of Hamlet and A Midsummer Night’s Dream, printed on a bookmark.

I’m completely enamoured with them.  Unfortunately, they’re not as small as my usual bookmarks, so I won’t be able to use them with every paperback I read (I don’t like to have my bookmarks sticking outside of the confines of their books, lest they get damaged), but I’ll still be able to use them quite a bit, hopefully.  Both of the plays are pretty much impossible to read with the naked eye (the text is very small, as you can imagine), but A Midsummer Night’s Dream has some possibility to it, and is surprisingly – though not easily – legible when using a not-very-powerful magnifying glass.  Hamlet, magnified, can be read a little bit, though it’s more a case of recognising words you know should be there, rather than actually reading the words themselves.

Anyway, it’s nice to have Hamlet on a bookmark.  Something for the desert island, yes?  Something to rebuild civilisation after the apocalypse.

Finished Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman today.  Thought it quite good.

v/81 in What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.

Written by epistemysics

February 23, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

