Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Gaming Depth

with 2 comments

I don’t think I’ve ever played a game that gave me that feeling of depth that I get from other art.  Certainly games give more thrills.  Possibly more escapism (though that’s arguable).  Definitely much more of a sense of achievement, too.  Hmm.  If I had to make the desert island choice of Shakespeare or a game, I’m not sure what I’d do.  My reflex is to say Shakespeare, but that’s because I haven’t thought over all the games I know.  (Shakespeare is the reflex because he contains the most – has the most replayability, as it were.)

But how futile such pleasures are when faced with an era of desert island habitation…  Nothing entertains forever, though can something console forever?  Religious texts would have limitless consolation, methinks.  Well, the Bible at least – I’m rather less au fait with all the others.

I would say some huge RPG would be the best contender for knocking Shakespeare off his perch, but I doubt it’d even come close.  I think I’d want something that would reinforce the humanity in me, and Shakespeare does that better than anything, I’m guessing.  But then again, if you are stuck on the island forever, do you want to reinforce the humanity of your past?  Would that be setting you up for constant sadness, by not creating a new humanity for yourself to live with?

I think I take this desert island scenario far too seriously – it’s only a scenario to get you to say your favourite things, after all.  But scratch the surface and an existential crisis peeps its head out.

As for the game: the only choice other than a huge RPG would be something infinite like Tetris.  But I’d still take Shakespeare.  Besides, you could probably make your own games on the island, but not your own Shakesepare.

Seriously considering buying a preowned PS3 tomorrow…

Written by epistemysics

February 17, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s enough indulgement I think… you should get back to work. You can only buy that PS3 if you set do 1000 words a day.

    Neil san

    February 18, 2013 at 2:04 pm

  2. Ransom myself, eh? I should set up something with someone like those people who give nearly-nude photos of their fat selves to friends to publish on facebook if they don’t lose a specified amount of weight by a deadline.

    epistemysics

    February 19, 2013 at 1:59 pm


Leave a Reply

