Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Tognetti’s Mozart

leave a comment »

Saw Tognetti’s Mozart tonight with the ACO.  Best Haydn symphony I’ve heard, methinks.  Also, Brett Dean’s Electric Preludes was quite the piece.  (I thought of a great line I could use in a review if I wanted to sarcastically put it down, but I really liked it, so I’ll never get to use it.  But it was (talking about the piece as a whole): “it’s as if Brett Dean was given a theremin as a birthday present when he was young and has never managed to get over it”.)

(Well, I thought it was funny.  You had to be there.)

Received The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap for Game Boy Advance in le post today.  Two other games on the way too, for the Wii: Metroid Prime Trilogy, and Xenoblade Chronicles.

Nothing on the play, nothing on the book, nothing on life in general.

Also thought, driving on the way home, about premieres (usually Australian) of old music.  Like if you go to a concert and it says in the program that one of Vivaldi’s pieces is an “Australian premiere”.  My line was, “it’s a bit like calling a grandmother a virgin”.  Except that a grandmother couldn’t be a virgin, obviously.  So I need to rethink the line.  (And not that any of the pieces I heard tonight deserve that kind of criticism anyway.)  “It’s a  bit like calling a spinster a virgin.”  Except ‘spinster’  isn’t as funny.  Whatever.

Written by epistemysics

February 12, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

