Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Fulfilment, Change

with 2 comments

Fulfilment, I think, is a very temporary thing, with the memory of it lasting no more than a day or – at the most – a week.  I think it comes from work, perhaps.  To do a day’s work, and then relax afterwards, is much for fulfilling than merely to relax the entire day.

And on that note, I didn’t write anything on the play today.  Nor have I for at least a week.  Hmm.  Still daydreaming about it on my walk, however.

But I did play a lot of Super Mario Galaxy, and got a lot of stars.

What if one were to treat writing as not an end in itself, but as a task to do to be fulfilled?  To write, not to strive to achieve recognition beyond your control (or some such thing), but to keep the blues away.  That might be a good way to design a life.

I was thinking, on my walk, that perhaps the reason I haven’t been writing much of value lately is because nothing inside of me has been changing.  Can you write a soliloquy based on stasis?  If one were to write a soliloquy for a character that was completely static, one would invalidate it straight away, because to notice that you’re static is to change somewhat in the process, yes?  Or perhaps not.  Who knows!  I’m going to bed.

Written by epistemysics

February 11, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you can play games forever… when will this hedonistic streak end?

    Neil san

    February 11, 2013 at 2:35 pm

  2. When? When?? When I get 120 stars, that’s when! (I have 111 now.)

    epistemysics

    February 11, 2013 at 9:55 pm


Leave a comment