Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

And On

leave a comment »

Finished South of the Border, West of the Sun today.  Great last line, methought.

There was a moment in it where the two main characters were discussing the meaning of ‘star-crossed lovers’, and I realised that I never actually knew what it meant before.  (Well, perhaps I had it drummed into me at school, but it mustn’t have stuck.)  It’s just such a famous line, I suppose, that you never question its components.

I was wondering, too, with the female character with the bad leg – whose name I doubt I can reproduce correctly – I was wondering if that was a reference to Mishima’s The Temple of the Golden Pavilion.  Didn’t one of the characters in that have a bad leg?  I wouldn’t have thought it was a reference, necessarily, if both authors weren’t Japanese.

We sold our boat to the bishop today.  As you do.

52/327 in The Elephant Vanishes.  Slightly unimpressed with the first story, mainly because it was pretty much the first chapter of the Wind Up Bird Chronicle, but the second story was interesting, in a minor way.  I wonder how long it’s been since I’ve read a book of short stories…  Goodness.  Borges is probably the last one.

Written by epistemysics

January 25, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

