Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

On Murakami’s Disownment

leave a comment »

Reading Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, and having read A Wild Sheep Chase, I understand now why Murakami doesn’t want his first two novels published in the West.  Still, I am thankful for having read them, for to love a writer is to love him for his flaws as well.  (The first two novels are more about the atmosphere Murakami creates, instead of any kind of beauties in symbolism or plot.  It’s structural craft, methinks, that Murakami probably felt was lacking in the first two.)

(And it’s not like I ever think about the symbolism of any of it, anyway.  I don’t see the books as puzzles to be solved, like someone might try to work out what Waiting for Godot means.)

Sitting in the cinema last night, with my 3D glasses on, and watching the high frame rate, my thoughts drifted to what Shakespeare would make of the technology, and whether, if it was the first movie he’d seen, he’d think that it looked weird.  I only mention this because it’s the first time in a week or so, I think, that I’ve had a thought about what Shakespeare would make of something that forms the stuff of my life.  And my guess as to why it’s been so long (when before I was having multiple thoughts daily) is because I’ve done nothing on the play.  Too absorbed in reading and procrastinating, no doubt.  I can never get the balance right.

297/whatever.

Written by epistemysics

January 19, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

