Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

School Dance

leave a comment »

Saw School Dance at the Wharf today.  Stupid fun.

Rust and Bone (and others like it) don’t give a chance for multiple perspectives, as the audience only hears one character’s point of view (the storyteller) in the story, and it’s too much of a cognitive leap (most of the time) to put yourself in another perspective?  (Andrew Upton speech.)

Andrew Upton, in his opening night speech last night, said something along the lines of “theatre being the best artform for showing different perspectives at once”, which is something that I would wholeheartedly agree with, methinks.  (Take Shakespeare, and not being able to figure out what his own personal politics were.)  But if one assumes that one of theatre’s strengths is this multi-perspective ability, then, thinking upon Rust and Bone (and other narrative-monologue-things like it), one wonders whether, perhaps, one of the reasons I do not like them as much as other forms of theatre is because they lack this multi-perspective-ness.  A character telling a story is by default a one-perspective affair, yes?  And even if the character telling the story speaks of other characters during said story, you’re still hearing about the other characters through that first perspective.  (Unless the character is a third-person narrator, but then, really, why are we even in a room listening to them?  It may as well be an audio-book.)

I think I remember that, as a child, my general attitude to life was one of anticipation.  Waiting for Christmas.  Waiting to see my friends the next day.  Et cetera.  And when what I was waiting for came, then there were no thoughts about the next thing in the queue.  And there was delay, too, trying to make the moments last as long as possible.  (“Aww, mum, do I have to leave my friend’s now?  Can’t I stay another hour?”)  Yet now, as an adult, I don’t think I anticipate (or delay) anywhere near as much as I used to.  And in the moment, I can often find myself thinking about what’s to come, or what has passed.  What it is, I think, is a withdrawal from the ‘present’.  I think this is the feeling that Murakami captures in his novels, that sense of being in flux yet not actually changing.

I wish I could insert a bit more of the pre-adult attitude into my life.  Yet I wonder whether a writer can write under the influence of such an attitude…

161/299 in A Wild Sheep Chase.

Written by epistemysics

January 13, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

