Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Invisible Murakami

with 2 comments

Today I bought Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman and What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.  Thought I may as well get the whole set.  (Plus I didn’t buy them at Kinokuniya yesterday because I looked them up on the web and found that they were cheaper online, so I decided not to tempt fate and buy them before they got more expensive again (which is likely to happen).)  Still didn’t buy Kafka on the Shore, though, which I’ve read through a friend’s copy, but don’t actually own myself.  But I do believe I have the entire works of Murakami that have been translated into English.

Finished Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves today too.  Not as good as other books of Matthew Reilly’s, but enjoyable enough.  I was trying to speed read sections (I wanted to practice on something that didn’t matter all that much), but I don’t think I was too successful.  So back to Clarissa.

And now I’ve discovered that Murakami’s first two novels, Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball, 1973, have eluded my wallet.  I’m having quite a bit of trouble finding where I could buy them.  Hmm.

Watched Hope Springs tonight, too.  It had its moments, but not as many as I’d have liked.  But pleasantly quaint, it was.

Written by epistemysics

December 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. His first two books weren’t translated into English. But they may have been translated by now… if not I can do it for a bit of practice…

    Neil san

    December 15, 2012 at 4:03 pm

  2. Au contraire, mon ami, they were translated into English. It’s just that, I think, they haven’t been printed for a while. (I think Murakami doesn’t like his first two novels, so he doesn’t want them rereleased in English – something like that.) There’s first editions available on eBay for $400, though…

    epistemysics

    December 16, 2012 at 12:24 am


Leave a Reply

