Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Classical Mystery Tour

leave a comment »

Saw Classical Mystery Tour with the Sydney Symphony tonight, at the State Theatre.  Enjoyable enough.  First time I’ve ever been to the State Theatre, too, which was not a small reason as to why I asked for the tickets.

Also went to Kinokuniya beforehand, just to browse.  I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy anything.  (Well, I didn’t go so far as to actually promise, but it was my intention.)  And so I bought a few books:

The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami
A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami
Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami
Dance Dance Dance by Haruki Murakami
Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami
After Dark by Haruki Murakami
After the Quake by Haruki Murakami
Birthday Stories by Haruki Murakami
South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami
Underground by Haruki Murakami

Detect a pattern?  They were all on special for $9.95, which is cheaper than I get them online, and so I jumped at the opportunity.  And then I remembered, though I can’t recall if it was before or after I bought them, that I’d promised myself not to buy any more books for a while.  Oops.

I wavered, too, before I bought them – presumably because $100 is a lot of money – though I feel no remorse now.  I never do when I buy books.

Also received today, completely unexpected, a present from an old friend for whom I did a favour a few months ago.  It was gift-wrapped and everything and sent from Amazon, and it was a set of Tom Stoppard’s Radio Plays (recordings of them).  Utterly made my day, it did.

Written by epistemysics

December 14, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

