Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Russian Masters

with one comment

Saw Russian Masters with the Sydney Symphony tonight.  Quite good.

Stuck in the carpark on the way back home, and looking for something to do, I tried reading Oliver Twist in the standstill traffic, but gave up on it after, quite predictably, the traffic started to move virtually the instant that I picked the book up.  But before that, having no radio reception that far underground, and no iPod or CDs in the car, I was forced to improvise.  And how did I improvise?  It turns out that there’s still five or six cassette tapes in the centre console from before time existed.  Looking through them (a painful experience, involving such horrors as Barbara Streisand) I stumbled upon Elton John and played that, being able to stand his music.

The whole point of all of this being that I needed to use my mobile (which has reception five levels underground – they must have installed phone receptors (or whatever they are) in the carpark) and so needed to pause the music.  Yet I couldn’t find the pause button for the tape player.  I spent a good thirty seconds to a minute on trying to solve the problem, which I eventually compromised with by turning the volume down.  (I didn’t want to simply eject the tape, you see.)  A minute or so after that I figured out that tapes don’t come with a pause (well, not the non-recording type), but only a stop, which in this case was the power button.  Duh.

How quickly we forget the underlying principles of old technology!

Up to Book 3 Chapter 4 in Oliver.  Enjoying it much more today, because it seems that most of the middle section of the book was cut out for the musical, so I’m getting brand-new plot – huzzah!

Written by epistemysics

November 24, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YO! Hello from Japan again. I see you’re a very busy concert goer these days. I would have loved to have have seen Russian masters with you. Maybe you can link a few of your reviews?

    Neil

    November 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

