Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Neon Lights

leave a comment »

Saw Neon Lights with the West Australian Ballet tonight.  Good.  Still not entirely convinced that dance is anything more than an accompaniment to music, though.

A middle-aged woman (also a critic, possibly) was sitting next to me, and when it finished asked me what book I’d been reading in the interval.  “Finnegans Wake”, I said.  I can’t remember exactly what she said, but she seemed to be fully aware what the book was, and cognizant of its difficulty.  Coincidence makes it home in the theatre audience, it seems.

Read three scenes of my play today, and thought myself quite a good writer.  For some bits, anyway.  Didn’t actually write any more lines, however.  It’s like I’m cuddling a dead foetus and refusing to move on or something.  (That was a tasteless metaphor, and not entirely accurate – I will finish the play after all, but one can sometimes get entranced by what one has written.  It’s best not to look back, I find.)

Written by epistemysics

October 17, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

