Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Dvorak and Shostakovich

leave a comment »

Saw Dvorak’s cello concerto and Shostakovich 10 with the Sydney Symphony today, a concert at 1.30pm.  I was quite possibly the youngest person at the concert.  Top five, anyway.  Or bottom five, rather.  Did I mention yesterday that I find Finnegans Wake quite humorous?  Fantastic concert, it was, by the way.

Bought myself From Russia With Love a few days ago – James Bond.  Tonight I bought myself Life and Death are Wearing Me Out by Mo Yan, who won the Nobel Prize two and a half hours ago.

Yes, that’s right, I didn’t win the Nobel.  Sigh.  I don’t know how long before the announcement they try and call the winner to let them know the news – sometime during the day of the announcement, at least.  And it’s always made me sad to think that when the writer wins that one million dollars – which, according to the stats, won’t happen before he’s at least 42 (Rudyard Kipling being the youngest person to win it at 42) – he won’t need it anywhere near as much as, say, a struggling writer just starting out would need it.  *cough, cough*

96/628 in Finnegans Wake.

And yes, I know I said I wouldn’t be buying any more books for a while.  But I have slowed down, at least.

Written by epistemysics

October 11, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

