Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Between Two Waves

leave a comment »

Saw Between Two Waves at Griffin tonight.  Rather good.  I think, also, that I may have spent ten dollars on a program that they were in fact giving away for free (there was a stack of them somewhat haphazardly placed on a stool near the entrance, though I bought mine from the price-marked stand at the box office).  Sigh.

In other news, I started reading Finnegans Wake today, and I’m finding it surprisingly enjoyable.  (56/628.)  I’ve almost no idea what’s going on (Finnegan’s fallen down stairs or something, there’s a guy called HCE, he seems to have done something bad – plus many a digression), but there’s something rather hypnotic about it.  And it’s almost palpable, the words in it – it’s as if you can almost feel them in your mouth when you’re saying it in your head.  It’s the same thing I was talking about with my play – some of the bits I’ve written involving contrasting consonants/syllables that add variety and just sound good (“intervals disjunct”, for instance) – except to a much greater extent, and virtually continuously.  I wonder if, one day, presuming my head may very well ascend through my colon, whether I would write a play in such difficult language as Finnegans Wake.  (If I did, then it would have copious stage directions, and one thinks it might be a lot easier for the audience to follow it, perhaps.)

How interesting, talking yesterday about a pure novel, and it seems like I very well may have stumbled across one.  Speaking of purity, and looking at some reviews for it on Amazon, I’ve discovered that my Penguin edition is based on the original text, which apparently is riddled with errors.  Hmm.  But I can’t be bothered stopping now.  If I read it again (which I’m fairly certain I will be doing) then I’ll buy a corrected version.

But I just stumbled upon this bit from Michael Woods’ review in the London Review of Books of the restored version: “The book itself presents a ‘fully restored and emended reading text’, and the editors are both proud and modest about their achievement. ‘The new text,’ they say, ‘differs from the old in about 9000 instances.’ Then they say immediately: ‘This sounds grander than it is. Finnegans Wake comprises some 220,000 words, or about six times that number of characters: letters, spaces and punctuation marks.’”

So I don’t feel so bad now.

Written by epistemysics

October 10, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

