Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Australia Day

leave a comment »

Saw Australia Day today.  Enjoyable enough, I suppose.  I don’t think I actually had to use my brain at all, though.  (Then again, I never really have to when I watch comedy, so I don’t know why I’m being a snob about it.)  Maybe it felt like I had to use less of my brain than is usual for the theatre.  Hmm.  Whatever.

From Proust 3, a passage that lodged in my eye:

“She was plainly aware that I must regard her as a mediocre actress and, conversely, hold in high esteem the ones she despised.  But she showed no resentment, because in all great talent which is not yet recognised, as hers was not at the time, however self-confident it may be, there  is an element of humility, and because we calculate the amount of esteem we expect from others not in term of our latent potential but of our present achievements.”

Written by epistemysics

September 25, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

