Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

The Biographical Test

leave a comment »

The following thought occurred to me tonight: if you’re ever wondering whether a writer will be remembered when they’re dead – that is, if they’re worth being remembered – then all you have to ask yourself is whether you can imagine, or how likely you think it will be, that someone will write a biography of them.  Can you, for instance, imagine someone writing a biography of Dan Brown?

Read Six Sacred Stones today.  Good fun.

Speaking of biographies, I spent a bit of time today researching them, and decided that when I start buying books again (which will either be in a few months time, or next week, depending on my willpower), I”ll be interested in buying biographies of Newton, Dostoevsky, Chekhov, Tolstoy, Beckett, Ibsen, Bernard Shaw, Beethoven, Mozart, Eugene O’Neill, Mendelssohn, Bach, and Proust.  There’s heaps more, I assume, but those were the ones which I found ‘definitive’ biographies of – I don’t want to waste my precious reading time on an inferior biography, after all, nor do I want to read more than one biography of a writer at this point in my life.  (Maybe, when I have more time spare, I will read more than one of a writer I truly admire.)

Written by epistemysics

September 23, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

