Epistemysics

Some theatre each day keeps the doctor away…

Vienna Boys’ Choir

leave a comment »

Saw the Vienna Boys’ Choir tonight.  Quite good.

In art – at least novels/plays – there is a difference between storytelling and consolation.  I think art which has no consolation does not survive long (one thinks of mystery novels, thrillers, and so on).

Yesterday I received my five books from Bookworld – Arabian Nights 2 and 3, Don Juan, The Aeneid, and The Good Soldier.  Today I got Jamrach’s Menagerie and Catching Fire.

I think I shall stop buying books for the moment.  Except for J.K. Rowling’s new novel.  But apart from that, I think I shall give my wallet a break.  I shall read what I have – this alone will keep me going for quite some time, I suspect.

And the cold has travelled to my head – though I still have a sore throat.  But now I have a runny nose.  Which is the easiest part of a cold to deal with if you’re just lumbering around the house, but if you’re going out anywhere it’s a bit of an annoyance, and if you want to read on the train, then it makes it all but impossible to, unless you hold the book above your head so you don’t have to tilt your head downwards.  I did hold the book above my head, but gave up after fifteen minutes or so.

Please excuse me while I go shove a tissue up my nose in the hope of stopping the leaking dam.

Written by epistemysics

September 18, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

